New Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament elected for North Lanarkshire

North Lanarkshire has new Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs).

Over the past month, young people aged 12-to-25 got the chance to vote on who should represent them as MSYPs.

Unaffiliated to any political parties, but concerned with improving the lives of their constituents, MSYPs are involved in various campaigns and youth events.

The Lanarkshire Live app is available to download now.

Get all the news from your area – as well as features, entertainment, sport and the latest on Lanarkshire’s recovery from the coronavirus pandemic – straight to your fingertips, 24/7.

The free download features the latest breaking news and exclusive stories, and allows you to customise your page to the sections that matter most to you.

Head to the App Store and never miss a beat in Lanarkshire – iOS Android

The election results for North Lanarkshire were held in Airdrie’s @Home Youth Centre, with the region commended for achieving the largest total number of voters in a local authority.

The winning candidates, who secured more than 8500 votes between them, were:

  • Airdrie and Shotts: Kayla Gardner and Phoenix Lynn.
  • Coatbridge and Chryston: Dean Collins and Anna Porteous.
  • Cumbernauld and Kilsyth: Emma Prach and Shafa Waqas.
  • Motherwell and Wishaw: Malaikah Ahmed and Lucy Smith.
  • Uddingston and Bellshill: Ash McGuire.

A North Lanarkshire Council spokesman said: “Congratulations to all the candidates and to everyone who took part in the process.

“All candidates are encouraged to continue all the work they did during their campaigns and to maintain their involvement in local youth participation, through their youth voice or other youth groups.”

More information on the Scottish Youth Parliament can be found online

* Don’t miss the latest headlines from around Lanarkshire. Sign up to our newsletters here.

And did you know Lanarkshire Live is on Facebook? Head on over and give us a like and share!

Source link

Back to top button